2016 Keynotes

The 2016 ACERE Conference welcomed once again, an exceptional group of experts in the area of entrepreneurship research.

Per Davidsson
Professor in Entrepreneurship and Director for the Australian Centre for Entrepreneurship Research (ACE) at the Queensland University of Technology, Australia.

5. Per Davidsson
Professor Davidsson is a Field Editor of Journal of Business Venturing and former associate editor of Small Business Economics and Entrepreneurship Theory & Practice. Per has additional affiliations with the Jönköping International Business School, Sweden and University of Louisville. In 2011/12 he served as Chair of the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management. He has led and/or participated in multiple international-collaborative research projects addressing a broad array of entrepreneurship issues on the individual, team, organisational, regional and national levels. Professor Davidsson’s primary areas of expertise being new venture creation, small firm growth and research methods he has authored more than 100 published works on entrepreneurship topics including some of the best cited works in the leading journals in this field.

Evan Douglas
Professor of Entrepreneurship and Head of Marketing at Griffith Business School, Griffith University in Queensland, Australia.

Professor Evan Douglas, new Head of School of Marketing, Griffith Business School
Professor Douglas has taught entrepreneurship, new venture strategy, new venture funding and business planning to MBA students in Australia, Canada, USA, England, China, India, and Thailand. Evan’s published research includes papers on the antecedents of the formation of entrepreneurial intentions, new venture risk analysis, and a book on new venture planning.

Saras D. Sarasvathy
Isidore Horween Research, Professor of Business Administration, Darden School of Business, University of Virginia. Jamuna Raghavan Chair Professor in Entrepreneurship, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore.

6. Saras D. Sarasvathy
Professor Saras D. Sarasvathy is a member of the Strategy, Entrepreneurship and Ethics area and teaches courses in entrepreneurship and ethics in Darden’s MBA program. In addition, Saras teaches in doctoral programs not only at Darden, but also in Denmark, India, Croatia and South Africa. In 2007, she was named one of the top 18 entrepreneurship professors by Fortune Small Business magazine. A leading scholar on the cognitive basis for high-performance entrepreneurship, Professor Sarasvathy serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Business Venturing and the Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal, and is advisor to entrepreneurship education programs in Europe and Asia. Her scholarly work has won several awards, including the 2001 William H. Newman Award from the Academy of Management and the 2009 Gerald E. Hills Best Paper Award from the American Marketing Association. Saras’ book Effectuation: Elements of Entrepreneurial Expertise (book overview) was nominated for the 2009 Terry Book Award by the Academy of Management.

Bill Schulze
Associate Director, The Center for Medical Innovation, School Of Medicine-Operations, University of Utah. David Eccles Professor, Strategy Department, David Eccles School of Business.

 1. Bill Schulze
Dr Schulze is a David Eccles Professor and Chair of the Management Department at the David Eccles School of Business at the University of Utah. Bill received a PhD from the University of Colorado in 1994. Prior to joining the faculty at Utah he was an associate professor of entrepreneurship and the HR Horvitz Chair of Family Business at Case Western Reserve University, and an assistant professor of management at the University of Connecticut. Dr Schulze has published in a variety of journals, including The Harvard Business Review, Strategic Management Journal, The Academy of Management Journal, The Academy of Management Review, Organization Science, Long Range Planning, Managerial and Decision Economics, and The Journal of Business Venturing. In addition, Bill’s work has appeared in several books and the proceedings of numerous conferences, including the Best Paper Proceedings of the Academy of Management in 1992, 1999 and 2000. He serves on the editorial review board for The Strategic Management Journal, The Journal of Management Studies, Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice, and Family Business Review. Dr Schulze’s research interests focus on the governance of private and closely held firms, the nature of risk, and a variety of topics related to new venture formation and growth.

Dean Shepherd
Professor Dean Shepherd, David H. Jacobs Chair in Strategic Entrepreneurship and Professor of Entrepreneurship at the Kelley School of Business, Indiana University, USA.

3. Dean Shephard
Professor Dean Shepherd received his doctorate and MBA from Bond University (Australia) and a Bachelor of Applied Science from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. Dean’s research on strategic entrepreneurship includes the decision making of entrepreneurs, new venture strategy, learning from failure, and pursuit of opportunity. Focusing on these four streams, he has published, or has accepted for publication, over 120 papers primarily in the top general management journals (Academy of Management Review, Journal of Management, Management Science, Organization Science and the Strategic Management Journal), top general operations journals (European Journal of Operational Research) and the top entrepreneurship journals (Journal of Business Venturing and Entrepreneurship Theory & Practice). Professor Shepherd is also the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Business Venturing (the top international journal on innovation/entrepreneurship) and on the review board for numerous top management and entrepreneurship journals.

Charlene Zietsma
Director of Entrepreneurial Studies, Associate Professor and Ann Brown Chair of Organization Studies at Schulich School of Business, York University, Canada.

2. Charlene Zietsma
Associate Professor Zietsma’s research focuses on contexts involving significant, large-scale change. In entrepreneurship, Charlene focuses on managing rapid growth, sustainable entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial cognition/emotion. She also studies institutional work, institutional change processes, and social emotions usually in the context of social and ecological issues and social movements. Associate Professor Zietsma has published articles in Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Organization Science, Journal of Business Venturing and others. Charlene is a Senior Editor for Organization Studies, and serves on the editorial board for several other journals.


Important Dates

Full paper submission deadline: 20 November

Educational Forum/Industry Forum Submission Deadline: 10 December

Application for Doctoral Consortium: 10 December

PDWs Submission Deadline: 10 December

Registration Early-Bird Price: 21 December


ACERE 2024 Program Schedule

Doctoral Consortium (Monday 5th February all day)

Paper Development Workshops (Tuesday 6th February – 9am – 3pm)

Educators/Industry Forum (Tuesday 6th February – 9am – 3pm)

Main Conference (Tuesday 6th (from 3:30 pm), Wednesday 7th (all day), Thursday 8th (all day) – Conference begins at 3:30 pm on Tuesday 6th)

Social events

Welcome Drinks at The Old Clare Hotel, Tuesday 6th February, 5:30-7:00 PM

Gala Event and Awards at MCA (Museum of Contemporary Art)- Wednesday, 7th February, 6:30-10:30 PM

 Closing drinks at Aerial Conference Centre Thursday 8th February 5-6 PM


As a first-time participant and a new doctoral student just 6 months in, the conference has been extremely useful for me in terms of my own personal learning and in meeting new, liked-minded individuals. I would definitely encourage more of my friends to apply the conference in the future.

Participant in 2023 Edition of ACERE